Skip to content

The Frugality Challenge: Day One

September 4, 2011

So, today was the day I started The Frugality Challenge, after piling the entire contents of my food store cupboards on to the kitchen table, in a bid to see how long I can last with the food I have in the house.  Aside from the obvious advantage of saving money on the food shopping (which we can put towards our trip to Las Vegas next month!), my main motivation is to see if I can improve my food efficiency – making sure I waste the very minimum.

Being a long lazy Sunday, I had the advantage of time today.  Plus, as I only decided to do The Frugality Challenge yesterday, I’d already got some ingredients in the fridge with a couple of specific recipes in mind.  It won’t be quite this easy a few days in!

So, here’s what we ate:

Breakfast:  Potato, Chorizo and Parsley Tortilla.  I took my recipe for this from the new edition (October 2011) of Olive magazine (page 46).  For those of you that don’t have a copy, here’s a similar Jamie Oliver recipe

Lunch: Steamed Pork and Prawn Wontons.  I’d thoroughly recommend this recipe – not only was it simple to make and looks fabulous, it was absolutely delicious.  Plus, lots of the ingredients will be ones that you may well have in your store cupboard already.  You can find this recipe on the BBC Good Food website.

Dinner: Toad in the Hole, with a side of spiced marrow.  I had a couple of packets of sausages in the freezer, so I used one of these for the Toad in the Hole.  On this occasion, I took my recipe from a little McDougalls Flour book, but usually I use this one from Delia.

Instead of gravy (as I’ve already run out of onions – I’m hoping my neighbour has some left in her veggie box that I can have!), I decided to use the marrow I’ve had in the fridge for a couple of weeks.  Neither me or the man about the house really like marrow, so when I stumbled upon a recipe for spiced marrow in Mridula Baljekar’s Secrets from an Indian Kitchen, I thought the spices might add enough flavour to transform it for us.  Alas no; it still tastes like watery bland marrow, just with a really spicy tomato sauce.  I won’t be eating the rest of that for leftovers tomorrow.

Tomorrow we’re out on Date Night and Tuesday I’m away with work, so it’ll be Wednesday before I dive into my piles of ingredients again.  Now that my tomatoes are finally starting to ripen and change colour, I think I could soon get a glut of these, so I’ll use my couple of days away from the kitchen to think up some suitable recipes… Tomato Tart springs to mind first and foremost!

What are your thoughts?

