Skip to content

In the Veg Box

January 10, 2012

I find it completely impossible not to make a New Year’s Resolution concerning food.  This year is no exception.

Whilst I avoided anything concerning that depressing ‘D’ word, this year, me and the Man About the House have vowed to eat a more healthy and balanced diet and in particular, focus on getting more than a fair share of fruit and vegetables into our daily feastings.  So, back to the vegetable box we go…

I always order from Riverford, because over the years, I’ve found them to be reliable, good value, great producers and promoting all the things I think a box scheme should – organic, locally produced, as sustainable as possible and an exciting variety.

The first box arrived last Tuesday with its abundance of vitamins.  As there are only two of us,  I ordered a mini box, which contains seven different types of veg with which to contend.  I’m about half way through its contents (which is good, because the next one will be here in a week!) and I’m going to spend the next few weeks exploring the wide variety of recipes, both vegetarian and not, that you can make with even the most humblest of vegetables.  I’ll be blogging my discoveries, including my favourites and disasters.  If you have any favourite recipes containing veggies, or are on the search for recipes for a particular type of vegetable, please do let me know.  I love a challenge!

I’ll pea off for now

From → In the Veg Box

Leave a Comment

What are your thoughts?

