Skip to content

The book that I think will change my life…but will certainly change this blog

August 27, 2012

Oooh, that’s a bit melodramatic, isn’t it?!  And as result, I’ve refrained from blogging this post for a couple of months now, as I can be a bit ‘faddie’ when it comes to liking something.  I’m notorious amongst my friends for having a ‘project’ that is somehow going to improve my live by bringing enrichment, satisfaction, riches or better health, but lasts only as long as my attention span.  Which is short.

But no, the contents of this book have had such a personal impact already, I can’t see it fading away on the pile of discarded ‘best intentions’ and as a result, I feel that it would be selfish of me not to share outside of my circle of friends…

The book in question is called ‘Why We Get Fat and What To Do About It’ by Gary Taubes.  It’s not a diet book as such (although I have read my share of those in the past); more of a detailed explanation of the biology and natural facts as to how our bodies use the food we put into them.

Since my twenties, I’ve been dissatisfied by my weight which has crept up on me, year on year.  I’m not endangering the health of any weighing scales just yet, but medically I’m about four stone over the advised weight for my height and age.  I’ve tried numerous diets over the years, with a little success, but my enthusiasm has always waned and the pounds regained.  Being a lover of all things food and a keen cook has just seemingly compounded my personal battle, because whilst I’m dutifully plodding through my plate of crunchy, undressed greens, I’m day-dreaming of cooking with cream and butter and all the things I’ve been led to believe are very bad for my tubby parts.

Then, back in June, a simple chain of events occurred that led me to now, sitting here, typing this, already one stone lighter, a great deal happier and most importantly, with my enthusiasm fully intact.  It started when I was chatting to a medical professional about being a bit tubby and he told me that sugary drinks were bad (obviously!), because they raised your blood sugar level, which releases insulin into your body.  I knew all this, but I was then interested to hear him say that insulin can prevent weight loss, even if you are cutting down on calories.

A couple of days later I was browsing cookbooks on Amazon, as one does when you already have three bookshelves groaning under the weight of culinary tomes, when I stumbled across a review of the aforementioned book.  It mentioned insulin and reducing carbohydrates.  It also got some pretty good feedback, and was only about four quid, so I purchased it.

Prior to reading the book, I’ve always been convinced that reducing carbohydrates in your diet is a bad thing.  After all, where would you get all your energy from? And didn’t the Atkins diet make people feel ill? And why would schools teach you to have more carbohydrates that any other food group?  Plus, how could I be a self-confessed ‘foodie’ (sorry if you just shuddered at that terminology) and not eat such a wide variety of foods?  Nonsense.

And yet, even before I had finished reading the book, I started to doubt my firm belief of carbohydrates and began to question what we’ve been told about the danger of ‘fats’.  Suddenly I found myself being able to serve up a dish of creamed spinach (drooling at the thought) with a lovely fillet steak, without a guilty sensation in doing so.  What’s more, the numbers on the scales started to decrease, despite eating around 100g of cheese a day!

I thought I’d miss bread and pasta.  In fact, I’d convinced myself that I couldn’t live without pasta.  But I’ve only had it once in over 3 months, despite eating out in numerous Italian restaurants, and I don’t feel the slightest bit deprived.  I also claimed that I was a complete chocoholic, but I can now wander through aisles of the stuff in a supermarket and not feel a thing.

Kate Moss once got lambasted for saying “Nothing tastes as good as skinny feels”, but I see her point.  And now, armed with the information I’ve learnt from ‘Why We Get Fat…’ I know how to combine the best of both worlds – yummy, tasty, satiating foods which I can eat and still lose all my excess pounds.

This does mean that I’m going to have to change the focus of this food blog though.  There is no point me waffling on about sugars and starches when I’m not wanting to eat them.  But don’t worry, I’ve already discovered an army of delicious low-carb recipes that anyone would be happy eating and I’ll be sure to share all the spoils here.  After all, one of the best things about food is sharing it!

From → Low Carbs

5 Comments
  1. Stacey permalink

    Fabulously honest and realistic blog post Dawn – thank you! I’ll be ordering a copy of this book and seeing if it might change my life and eating habits too!

    • Thanks Stacey; I really can’t rave about the book enough. Putting weight aside, I’ve not felt this healthy for a long time and I don’t think it can be a coincidence. I look forward to hearing your view of the book x

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. New Year, new challenges. Plus a recipe for Curried Courgette Soup « Food: from Dawn till dusk
  2. My top tips to a low-carb diet « Food: from Dawn till dusk
  3. Can writing help me to lose weight? | Food: from Dawn till dusk

What are your thoughts?

