Skip to content

Recipe: Quick Butter Chicken and Cauliflower Rice

November 19, 2012

So a couple of weeks ago, I traipsed down the M1 to the greyer-than-usual Luton town centre, parking up at the BBC Three Counties Radio studios, ready to don my radio mic and spout some knowledgeable nonsense about food.  For those of you that aren’t local, or even from the UK, Three Counties is a regional radio show that has a lovely Saturday lunchtime show called Weekend Kitchen.

Hosted by the larger than life Nick Coffer, the show invites food-loving, friendly chaps and chapesses to come and natter about food, sharing and tasting recipes and ideas, with the odd song thrown in just to keep the listeners on their toes.

As I was in my own kitchen again this Saturday at 12pm, I switched on the show for a little listen whilst I was decorating a cake.  I have to say I was more than chuffed when they spoke to a regular listener of the show, asking about the recipe fact sheets that are available on request or to be downloaded from the website.  My exhilaration came when she said that she would be cooking Cauliflower Rice that day – one of the recipes that I did on the show the previous week.  I mean, it’s lovely that my Dad phones me up every week to let me know he’s tried the recipes from the blog (thanks Dad!), but it’s even more of a thrill when a complete stranger in High Wycombe is giving them a bash too.

So I guess what I’m saying is do let me know if you ever try any of my recipes.  I’d quite simply love to hear from you!

Anyway, here is that Cauliflower Rice recipe, along with the Quick Butter Chicken that I served it with.  Perfect for anyone in a hurry, following a low-carb regime, or wanting to incorporate more veg into your main meal.  Or all of the above.  Enjoy!

Quick Butter Chicken

Makes 4 portions

30g unsalted Butter
4 Chicken breasts (about 650-700g in total), cut into chunks
2 tablespoons Tandoori Paste
160ml Whipping Cream
2 tablespoons Flaked Almonds
handful of fresh Coriander leaves, finely chopped
Sea Salt and Black Pepper

  1. Heat 15g of the butter in a large frying pan over a medium-high heat.  Add the chicken, stirring, until lightly browned and almost cooked.  Don’t over cook it here or cook it at too low a heat – it’ll just become rubbery.  Takes about 4-5 minutes.
  2. Stir in the tandoori paste, coating all the chicken and cook for a minute.  Then pour in the cream and simmer for about 5 minutes, until the sauce has thickened.
  3. Stir in the rest of the butter, the coriander leaves and the almonds.  Check the seasons and add if necessary.  Serve immediately with rice/cauliflower rice and spinach/wilted greens.

 

Cauliflower Rice

Makes 4-6 side portions

A Cauliflower, trimmed of leaves and the end of the stalk and chopped up finely in a food processor, or grated (which makes a tremendous mess, but is fun!)
60g unsalted Butter
2 Garlic cloves, finely chopped
1 teaspoon Sea Salt
2 Spring Onions, sliced
Black Pepper

  1. If the cauliflower is moist, squeeze out any excess water.
  2. Melt the butter in a large frying pan over a medium heat and add the garlic, until softened.  Pop in the cauliflower and salt and stir-fry for about 10 minutes.
  3. Stir in the spring onions and season to taste with the pepper, plus adding a little more salt if necessary.  You could also add a spot of cream at this point if you fancy it.
  4. Serve with anything that you would normally serve with rice!
What are your thoughts?

