Skip to content

New Year, new challenges. Plus a recipe for Curried Courgette Soup

December 31, 2012

I’m a great fan of a New Year.  It’s like a great big breath of fresh air – you don’t know what to expect, but there is an unspoken optimism of what lays ahead.

Although 2012 has been the best for me yet, what with my dream wedding and everything, I know it’s not been the case for everyone around me.  So for those of you that have had tough times, I hope you’ll be able to take something meaningful from the challenges you’ve had and that 2013 will be a whole heap better for you.

I’ve always set myself New Year’s Resolutions, much to the amusement of my close friends (one year I think the number reached double figures and I had to enlist the help of a special little notepad just to remember them all).  But this time, my husband has jumped on board.  Not having been in the best of health himself all year, he’s agreed to try for a healthier lifestyle, and although he’s yet to read the book, he’s agreed to try low-carb living for a bit, to see if it improves his vitality.  We’re also combining this with another of my favourite endeavours, which is frugality.  Having splurged so much in 2012 on weddings, honeymoons and cars, we’ve decided that 2013 will be our Year of Frugality.  And not just food this time, either.

So that gives me a lovely focus for this blog next year; low-carb and frugal recipes, which in itself can present a challenge; as low-carb means high protein, which in turn can mean more expense, but never fear…I’m an old hand at this now!

Here’s one of my Dad’s favourite recipes to start you off with.  It was discovered thanks to a glut of courgettes on his new-found hobby (aka The Allotment) and has proved to be a big hit with everyone, including my self-declared courgette-hating husband.  Sorry about the absence of any photos…I was too busy eating the soup to remember to take any!

Curried Courgette Soup

a large knob of butter
1 large onion, halved and thinly sliced
1 tablespoon medium curry powder
sea salt and freshly ground pepper
4 courgettes, sliced
1 litre chicken stock
100ml single or double cream

1. Melt the butter in a large saucepan and add the onion.  Add the curry powder and season lightly with salt and cook over a gentle heat for 10 minutes, or until the onion has softened.

2. Add the chopped courgettes and cook until soft – this will be approximately another 10 minutes.

3. Add enough stock to cover the vegetables, bring to the boil and then simmer gently for 20 minutes.

4. Blend to a smooth consistency, add the cream and heat gently.  Adjust seasoning accordingly and then serve.

Wishing you all a very Happy New Year.  Here’s to good times ahead!

3 Comments
  1. Hi there. Food on Friday:Zucchini is open for entries. This looks like a good one! I do hope you link it in. This is the link . Please do pop back to check out some of the other links. Cheers

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. No supermarkets for the folk from Poldark… | Food: from Dawn till dusk
  2. Dinner parties – the low-carb way | Food: from Dawn till dusk

What are your thoughts?

