Skip to content

Recipe: Pickled Carrot (and other stuff)

June 10, 2014

I cook a lot from recipes because I love trying new things and before I start to experiment, I prefer to try them as other people meant me to try them. And then I change a lot. But just recently I came across a corker of a recipe that I’ve not changed one jot. Well, maybe once or twice.

But I’m going to give you the original recipe as I found it. Best part of all – it’s as simple as putting on a pair of socks. Almost as easy as opening a jar or a packet. And a lot more satisfying and tasty.

So here it is; pickled carrot. Oh, and the last time I did it, I chucked in some halved radishes…they worked well. I reckon cucumber would too. Goes great with cold meats, hot meats, potted meats. Meat in general. Probably taste ok with a bit of cheese too…not tried that yet.

1 Carrot, cut into thin matchsticks
1/2 teaspoon of fine Sea Salt
1 and 1/2 tablespoons of Rice Vinegar
3 tablespoons of Caster Sugar

Mix all the ingredients together in a bowl, cover and pop in the fridge for 20 minutes.

See, told you it was easy, didn’t I?!

5 Comments
  1. i should try pickling my own foods!

  2. AgileWriter permalink

    Interesting!!
    Are you fond of Chinese food? I just love it.
    http://bit.ly/UdF0rr

  3. Yes I do! Thanks for sharing your link – the pictures look brilliant.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. In the Veg Box: The Humble Carrot | Food: from Dawn till dusk

What are your thoughts?

