Skip to content

Recipe: Courgettes and Mushrooms in Garlic Butter

January 8, 2015

I’ve heard it been said that regular gentle ‘bickering’ is healthy for a relationship, as it avoids major bust-up arguments and keeps problems out in the open where they can be acknowledged and dealt with. Now, I have no idea if there is the slightest element of truth in that, however, I do know that my husband and I do our fair share of bickering and often than not, it’s about vegetables.

Yes, you heard me correctly; I said vegetables.

My complaint is that he doesn’t like enough of them and I get bored with cooking and eating the same selection of about eight, when there are literally hundreds to choose from. So I frequently pop a few different ones on his plate, with a load of other food that I know he definitely does like. Imagine my frustration when they are still there at the end of dinner and I’m scraping them into the food waste bin (or even worse, eating them myself to avoid wasting them, even though I’m already full). His argument is that he won’t suddenly start liking more vegetables just because I put them on his plate and me urging him to keep trying food isn’t going to suddenly make him love cauliflower; irrespective of how well I try and disguise it. My counter-argument that I once heard Heston Blumenthal say on the radio that if you try something you don’t like 11 times, your taste buds will adjust and you’ll start liking it just isn’t cutting the mustard.

And so it continues.

And will continue until I make him love cauliflower… Or I die. Whichever comes first.

However, it’s not all bleak. He has recently started to eat courgettes, providing I slice them really thinly and coat them in garlic butter. I’ll take that as a victory.

Using a mandolin helps you to slice the courgettes really finely.  Watch your fingers though!

Using a mandolin helps you to slice the courgettes really finely. Watch your fingers though!

Here’s the recipe and method:

Serves 2-3 as a side dish. Great accompaniment to most meat and fish. Would even team up nicely with a bit of golden halloumi.

20g Butter
1 tablespoon Olive Oil
2 cloves of Garlic, finely chopped (or crushed, if you can be bothered to wash up one of those contraptions. I can’t.)
A Courgette, sliced very finely using a mandolin if you have one, or a sharp knife if you don’t.
125g Mushrooms, sliced finely
Sea Salt and ground Black Pepper
2 tablespoons Chives, finely chopped (optional)

1. Heat the butter and oil in a frying pan on a medium heat. When the butter is foaming, add the garlic to the pan and gently fry until it releases its aroma – about 30 seconds to a minute.

2. Add the mushrooms, turn the heat to high and fry whilst stirring for 2 minutes.

3. Reduce the heat back to medium and add the courgettes. Cook for a further 2-3 minutes, stirring frequently. Season liberally to taste and sprinkle over the chives. Serve straightaway or keep warm in a low oven until you’re ready to eat.

Leave a Comment

What are your thoughts?

