Skip to content

No supermarkets for the folk from Poldark…

April 7, 2015

When my husband and I were watching Poldark on catch-up the other day (me, of course, for my weekly TV ‘hottie’ fix; not sure why Hubs watches it, probably more for its content and storyline) we remarked on how scary it must have been to have lived hand-to-mouth, as they were so desperately reliant on a good pilchard catch to see them through the winter.

I try really hard not to take things for granted but the convenience and luxury of being able to walk in to a supermarket and being able to both get the majority of foodstuffs I want at any time and having the means to pay for them puts scenarios such as that depicted by the scene in Poldark beyond our comprehension.

Don’t get me wrong; I know it’s not like that for everyone in this country – the dramatic rise of food banks demonstrates this. And I’m also lucky enough to be an accomplished cook (though I believe that this is with anyone’s reach, provided you’re willing to make the effort to learn) so I can take cheaper ingredients and get the best out of them to create delicious meals and snacks when we have to watch the pennies.

Looking back over the recipes I’ve blogged in the past, here are five of my frugal favourites; I’ll see if I can conjure up a few more to post in the near future. It’s not really a coincidence that the majority of them are meat-free, but I’ll come up with some more protein-rich ones in the future.

1. Vegetarian Scotch Eggs. Just the other day my friend reminded me that I need to make these again soon. They are so delicious and not at all dull like some vegetarian food can be.

2. Pork in Oyster Sauce. I still marvel every time I buy pork at how cost-effective it is, even for the prime cuts like fillet.

3. Curry Sauce for everything. A fabulous sauce/condiment that can liven up even the cheapest of ingredients. And easy to batch cook and freeze so it can help you out if you’re time poor.

4. Indian Slaw. Great with so many foods, hot and cold. Also a good way to use up some of those Indian spices that can languish in the back of the cupboard, getting a bit dusty.

5. Curried Courgette Soup. A favourite of my Dad’s (his recipe, in fact) and so super tasty that even my courgette-rejecting husband will slurp a bowl down.

What are your favourite frugal dinners? I’d love it if you would share them with me.

Leave a Comment

What are your thoughts?

