Skip to content

Can writing help me to lose weight?

May 25, 2015

I’ve recently reviewed and renewed my personal five-year plan. Yes, I am that person that likes to have a plan! It’s the fourth year I’ve done one* and the recurring theme that I am not making any headway with is fulfilling my desire to lose weight and have an altogether healthier lifestyle. It seems that writing the words ‘lose three stone’ in a nice little plan doesn’t make magic happen.

It’s not that I don’t know how to do it. If you’ve seen any of my past posts about my favourite book ‘Why we get fat’, you’ll know that I’m 100% convinced that low-carb is the way to go. But conviction alone is not enough. If it was, I guess we’d all be living the perfect lives.

I’ve had great results in the past. In fact, whenever I decrease carb consumption for a sustained period of time, I always feel so much better. But maintaining this needs so much more. As a keen cook who likes to try lots of different types of recipes and cuisines (and in particular, baking!) and with the plethora of high-carb choices in our modern, convenient society, it’s one nut that I’m finding really tricky to crack.

I’m about half way through a really insightful book called ‘The Power of Habit’ by Charles Duhigg and through reading this has come the realisation that maybe the only way I am going to truly succeed with this goal is for it to become a habit. I need to make low-carb eating a fundamental part of my everyday life, just like cleaning my teeth and brushing my hair. I need to re-programme my 37 years of eating carbs with routines and practices that do anything but.

And I thought this would be a good place to start. To commit my plans to writing. In a public place where I am unable to pretend that I didn’t say it. On the internet, where we all know information cannot be erased. So I’ve rewritten that little box on my five-year plan. It now says ‘lose three stone and blog about the recipes and journey to get there’.

This is the first step and I’m excited for where it will lead. Wish me luck!

*If you would like me to do a blog post on writing a personal five-year plan, just let me know in the comments below. Happy to oblige!

What are your thoughts?

