Skip to content

One cook book too far..?

October 26, 2015

There comes a point when you have to say enough is enough.  And that’s where I recently got to with my recipe collection.  I had Olive magazine dropping through the letterbox every month, despite a four-year back catalogue, along with a plentiful supply of Waitrose magazine, a few Good Foods and a large pile of Delicious.  Then there are 150+ cook books on the shelf, some of which are so voluminous you would struggle to hold them in one hand.  If that wasn’t enough, there is also the box file, crammed full of cuttings and ones I’ve printed from the endless supply that live in the internet…

Of course, you might think there is absolutely nothing wrong with this, especially if you are a slightly food-obsessed kitchen-loving cook like me.  But that’s just the problem – I was starting to feel like I wasn’t doing any of the recipes and cook books justice.  With a busy working day, quite a lengthy commute and usually an action-packed weekend, I find myself only able to cooking around four new recipes a week.  And yet, I have approximately 160+ arrive in the post every month.  The guilt started to mount up as quickly as the un-thumbed volumes.  Tough love was the only answer.  Tough, because I simply love new recipes.

I’ve done it though.  The Direct Debit has been stopped.  The last volume is poetically to be despatched on the date of my birthday next year.  A little gift from me to me.  No more guilt and time to catch up with some old friends.

Am I the only person that feels like this?

From → Random stuff, Recipes

What are your thoughts?

