Skip to content

Recipe: Caramelised Onion Purée

March 9, 2016

Although Valentine’s day seems like an age away, it’s to then that I’m casting back my blogging memory and bringing you one of the most delicious things I’ve cooked in a long time.  Well, I’m not literally bringing it, of course – I’m not about to rock up at your door, desk, or beside you on the train with a warm dish of deliciousness – but I will share the recipe with you and hope that my enthusiasm is enough to convince you to make it yourself.  It’s worth it.  It’s soooooooo worth it.  And it’s ridiculously simple.  It will take you a little bit of time, but it’s carefree enough that you can sneak off and watch an episode of Masterchef USA whilst it’s cooking, returning during the advert breaks for a quick stir and inspect.  Or maybe that’s just me?

With just three ingredients and some seasoning, it’s hard to believe something can taste so good.

50g Goose Fat
6oog Onions, sliced.  Time to have a good old cry!
30g Butter, unsalted

  1. Warm the goose fat until it’s liquid in a saucepan (which has a lid) large enough to hold all of the chopped onions.  Add the onions and stir well.  Pop the lid on and cook for five minutes, stirring every minute, until the onions have gone all soft and translucent.
  2. Remove the lid and then cook until the onions are vastly reduced in quantity and a warm golden brown colour, stirring occasionally to stop the onions from sticking to the pan and burning.  It’ll take about 40 minutes to an hour for them to be ready.  That’s when you can pass the time doing other things.
  3. When the onions are ready, remove them from the heat and transfer them to a blender and blend until smooth. Add the butter to the onions and blend again. Season and either keep warm until you’re ready to serve or warm through again later.

It’s that delicious that you’ll be stealing spoonfuls of it whilst preparing whatever else you’re making to go with it.  All in the name of ‘tasting’, that’s my excuse.

I served it, pictured in this post, with pan-fried fillet steak and a ragout of broad beans and peas.  And I had leftovers the next day with breaded chicken.  I think you could serve it with most meats and types of fish – anything that can stand up to sweet onions, really.  I’m also thinking it would be amazing spread on some farmhouse loaf and loaded with slices of juicy roast beef, but that wouldn’t suit my low-carb diet.  Maybe one for a special occasion!

I’d love to hear from anyone that tries to see if you enjoyed it as much as me…!

 

 

 

From → Low Carbs, Recipes

What are your thoughts?

