Skip to content

It’s okay to mess up…

April 2, 2016

Today I completely messed up the pesto meant for our mozzarella and beefsteak tomato lunch.  Quite stupid of me really – I chucked loads of the woody basil stalks, along with the leaves and stems, into the blender with the pine nuts and garlic cloves.  Not sure why; I’ve made pesto hundreds of times and never done that before.  Anyway, the result was inedible – every bite was filled with chewy sinewy stalks.  Yuk.

A few months ago, I probably would have given myself a really hard time about that.  In fact, maybe even a few weeks ago.  Today, I just shrugged it off, made a conscious mental note not to repeat that mistake and ‘painted’ the tomatoes with some of the pesto oil, rescuing the intended dish as best as I could.

So what’s changed?  Well, it’s actually stemmed from my day job, where there’s a reinvigorated emphasis on our personal development in the workplace.  Thanks to a talk from an awesome colleague, Linney,  I’ve recently been inspired to create something of a funky personal development plan (PDP) (which I’m very pleased with and so have shared a picture of it below) and the thinking behind this has leaked (in a good way) into my home life.  I already have a personal five year plan, which helps me to focus on the things I want to spend my spare time doing and the things I want to learn, but it doesn’t guide me with the ‘how’ I learn.

PDP

What creating my PDP at work has done is to spark the realisation that every opportunity we have to learn is a valuable one and, instead of spending time berating and criticising myself, I should be figuring out what that opportunity has taught me. Maybe it’ll be about what I need to do to get it right next time.  This continual cycle of improvement is vastly rewarding in cooking – after all, who wouldn’t want their food to taste better and better every time they eat it?!

Today I learnt that thick basil stalks have no place in a pesto – and that I really am quite good at improvising.  What is it that my husband always says? Oh  yeah: ‘Every day’s a school day’!

So, it’s okay to mess up.  Just make sure you learn something from it.

Have you had any recent cooking disasters?

Learning

2 Comments
  1. Great lesson on messing up. Don’t ask about cooking disasters. I have had many. 😛

    That PDP looks great. You are right about learning. There is something or the other every single day. I am also a learner and my quest to know new things never stops.

    Stopping by from the Daily Post Prompt page and here is my post – http://happinessandfood.com/getting-behind-the-wheels/

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. What I ate today | Food: from Dawn till dusk

What are your thoughts?

