Skip to content

Dinner parties – the low-carb way

April 12, 2016

One thing I do really love is to throw a dinner party.  I’ve been doing it quite successfully (if I do say so myself) for the past fifteen years.  It’s the time to dust off the indulgent recipes and take my time to give my friends and family a proper culinary treat.

So when Hubs and I started off down road to low-carb land, I was at a bit of a confused crossroads.  Did I do my normal full fanfare and then be disappointed at myself for the next week for blowing all the progress I’d made?  It feels so wrong to drop something you’ve declared as a new ‘way of life’ every time friends come over for dinner.  Or even worse, did I potentially disappoint my guests by not meeting their normal expectations?

Fortunately, it didn’t take me too long to realise I could have the best of both ways with just a little carby compromise.  For those of you that appreciate a bit of fine food fare, you’ll know that actually, bread baskets and desserts aside, the majority of the food will be high in protein and fat.  So it’s not too challenging to put together a luxurious low-carb dinner party menu where everyone’s a winner.  And to help anyone who’s not sure where to start or short of ideas, here’s some examples that I’ve put together by plucking recipes I’ve already posted on this blog.  The key is to focus on the savouries.  If you do really want to do a dessert (and a cheese course doesn’t appeal), focus on something small and simple, with not too much sugar, like a dark chocolate mousse.

Vegetarian Scotch Eggs, served with spiced lentils

Vegetarian Scotch Eggs

Amuse Bouche: Curried Courgette Soup
Starter: Vegetarian Scotch Eggs with Curry Sauce
Main: Lamb and Egg Curry

Dawn's Balls

‘Dawn’s Balls’ with Sriracha Mayonnaise

Canapes: Dawn’s Balls with Sriracha Mayonnaise (just one or three, they’re not really low carb)
Fish Course: Smoked Haddock and Cauliflower ‘Rice’ Kedgeree
Main Course: Pesto and Mozzarella Chicken with a green salad

Butter Chicken and Cauliflower Rice

Quick Butter Chicken with Cauliflower Rice

Amuse Bouche: Curried Courgette Soup
Starter: Lamb Patties with Indian Slaw
Main: Quick Butter Chicken with Cauliflower Rice

Caramelised onion puree

Fillet Steak with Caramelised Onion Puree 

 

Starter: Tomato, Mozzarella and Pesto Salad
Main: Fillet Steak, served with Caramelised Onion Purée and Buttered Swiss Chard

I hope it gives someone somewhere some inspiration, or at least, a bloody good dinner!

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. How was the cauliflower rice? Photos look delicious, well done! X

    • Just delicious, Louise. I love it! Only problem is that my hubs doesn’t, so I don’t do it that often… Boo!

What are your thoughts?

