Skip to content

What I ate today

April 18, 2016

I do not have enough fingers and toes fifty times over to count the number of times someone, particularly at work, has said “Your food always looks amazing.  It makes me so hungry”, due to the posts I put up via Instagram and Facebook.

It’s lovely.  Gives me a real buzz.  And makes me feel less guilty about food-spamming all my friends’ Facebook feeds… Ah, they can just hide my posts or un-friend me if it gets too much… I really wouldn’t mind.

The thing is, I only post the good-looking stuff.  I didn’t put up a picture of my failed pesto, and I certainly didn’t share the disastrous dosa episode that followed closely behind it.  Why would I?   One of the things I particularly like about food is its ability to entice you just from a picture – no smell or tastes necessary to get the tastebuds in a frenzy.  It’s true, we do ‘eat with our eyes’.

But I thought it might put minds at rest to know that my husband and I don’t eat like kings and queens every day.  In fact, most of our meals are distinctly…well, ugly!  Check it out for yourself – here’s what I’ve eaten for breakfast, lunch and dinner over the past week.  Oh, except for the meals that I forgot to take pictures of.  It’s so hard to remember to do that when there’s something unappetitising staring back at you…  And yes. We do eat a lot of sausages!

One Comment
  1. Yum yum yum yum yum and yum!

What are your thoughts?

